top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine

November 2023 Book Reviews!

It's the holiday season and time for me to share the books I've read in November. Books are a great gift for the reader in your life, so maybe you'll find the perfect book for someone on your holiday gift list.


And if you are on Goodreads, be sure to follow me and keep up real time with what I'm reading. You can find my profile on Goodreads here.


This content uses referral links. Read our Affiliate Disclosure statement for more info. Making purchases after having followed one of these links will benefit me, but costs you nothing extra. Thanks for clicking!


Longhorns East by Johnny D. Boggs


While this isn't a genre I would normally read, I really enjoyed this book. It's the story of a man who moves to the U.S. from England, and his adventures of taking a herd of cows and hogs from Texas to NYC. Lots of adventure. The author does an excellent job of developing the characters, so you get totally involved in them. Just an excellent story. I received an advance copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


To purchase the book from Amazon, click here.


Tatum Comes Home by Tatum Talks with Mica Stone


This is a super cute and sweet story about Tatum (who is a real life TikTok star), and his quest to get back home after getting lost when he bolted from his Dad's truck during a bad storm. Tatum has all sorts of adventures, and meets lots of kind people along the way who try to help him get home. Tatum touches the lives of each person he comes across. The writing is a bit simplistic. It almost feels like it is more geared for kids or pre-teens. But, a nice story that will put a smile on your face. I received an advance copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


To purchase the book from Amazon, click here.


Familia by Lauren E. Rico


Absolutely loved this book! Such an emotional story. Two women search for the truth about their lives after a genealogy test reveals something neither of them expected. The storytelling is brilliant and takes all sorts of twists and turns. All of the characters seem so real and easy to get involved with. This book will go on sale December 26, 2023. Put it on your TBR list now! I received an advance copy for free, and am leaving this review voluntarily. Five out of five stars!


This book will be released on December 26, 2023. To pre-order your copy on Amazon, click here.


A Good Rush of Blood by Matt Phillips


This is a well thought through mystery/crime thriller. The story is very detailed - almost to the extent that all of the people involved got a bit confusing. I felt there were a few things and characters that were part of the book that really didn't need to be there, and didn't add to the story. But I enjoyed it overall. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


To purchase this book on Amazon, click here.


The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers by Samuel Burr


Super cute story. Clayton is an old soul, who grew up in a place that was the home of the Fellowship of Puzzlemakers. Having been left on the steps as a baby, Clayton never knew who is real parents were. After the woman he considered his mother dies, he sets out on a quest to discover his birth parents, directed by puzzle clues. A little cheesy, but an entertaining read. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


This book will be released on April 9, 2024. To pre-order your copy on Amazon, click here.


How To Be Old: Lessons In Living Boldly From The Accidental Icon by Lyn Slater


As someone who is in their fifties, I loved the idea of this book. While I didn't know who Lyn Slater or The Accidental Icon were, I quickly found out after reading the book. And while most of her lessons about getting older are tied to clothing and her love of fashion, which I don't connect with at all, I did connect with her wisdom and advice about staying true to yourself, and still having time to reinvent yourself as you grow older. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


This book will be released on March 12, 2024. To pre-order your copy from Amazon, click here.


Filthy Rich Vampire (Filthy Rich Vampires, Number 1) by Geneva Lee Albin


This book is a little bit of Pretty Woman meets Phantom Of The Opera with vampires as the main characters. It definitely was a page turner, but not sure I loved it enough to want to read the other two books in the series. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, and am leaving an honest review. Three out of five stars.


To purchase this book from Amazon, click here.


Hard By A Great Forest by Leo Vardiashvili


This is the story of Saba, who has returned to the country of Georgia to search for his father. When Saba and his brother Sandro were young, their father took them and fled to London, leaving their mother behind in Georgia. This is a difficult book to read. It's a heartbreaking story of what war can do to people and how it can rip apart families. The story is very well written and I expect this one to get rave reviews when it is published. This book goes on sale on January 30, 2024. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


This book will be released January 30, 2024. To pre-order your copy from Amazon, click here.


Stagnant Water by Gaeli Love Weiss


I'm a bit torn about this one. I thought the book started out a little slow, and it was hard for me to get a handle on the story. But, it definitely built and the last several chapters were intense! This book is not for the faint of heart. The last few chapters are pretty violent. The subject matter around religion and abuse can be hard for some. But the book is really well written and a page turner at the end. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Four out of five stars!


To purchase this book from Amazon, click here.


The Other Significant Others: Reimagining Life With Friendship At The Center by Rhaina Cohen


This book explores relationships between people that go beyond the definition of casual friends. From people that are in platonic life partnerships, to people that feel they are soulmates, this book looks at the different forms those relationships can take. Very interesting and well written and researched. I received an advance copy of this book for free, and am voluntarily leaving a review. Four out of five stars!


This book will be released February 13, 2023. To pre-order the book from Amazon, click here.


That's a wrap on the books I read this past month. I hope you find something that interests you or that might be perfect for someone on your holiday shopping list. I'd love to hear from you if you check any of these books out. Happy reading!


What books do you recommend I read next? Let me know! Comment below or e-mail me at tips2livebywriter@gmail.com.


Did you like what you read? Want to keep up on live music, drink, travel and books? Make sure you follow us on social media. Click on the links at the bottom of the homepage on the website to follow where we are, what we are eating and drinking, and what live music we are listening to.


10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page